OREANDA-NEWSThe agreement on pensions between the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) assumes that the country in which the migrant worked and made contributions to the Pension Fund will pay him a pension upon his return home. The draft agreement was posted by the Eurasian Economic Commission in March, and in mid-May, the Ministry of Labor sent for the Expert Council under the government a corresponding package of documents, asking for approval “as soon as possible”, follows from the letter of the Ministry of Labor, the media has a copy.

The press service of the Ministry of Labor informed the Russian media that the agreement will enter into force from the date of receipt by the depositary through diplomatic channels of the last written notification of the implementation by member states of the internal procedures necessary for its entry into force. “It's planned that the agreement will be signed in the fall and ratified by all the EAEU member states by the end of the year”, the Labor Ministry replied. The EEU includes Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

Now on the territory of the former Soviet Union, the Agreement on the Guarantees of the Rights of Citizens of the CIS Member States in the Field of Pension Security of 1992 is in force. Its members are current members of the EAEU. Under this contract, pensions are appointed and paid by the state of permanent residence of a person regardless of citizenship. This “makes it almost impossible to fully implement the pension rights of workers, which they have formed over the years of work in the territories of several member states”.

The basic principle is that the pension will follow the pensioner. The experience acquired in the territory of different Member States will be summed up. The pension eventually granted in one of the member states will be “exported” if the pensioner moves to another EEU country.