OREANDA-NEWS. French President Emmanuel Macron announced the imposition of a night curfew on October 17 in the region of Ile-de-France, where Paris is located, and in eight other cities of the country: Aix-en-Provence, Grenoble, Lille, Lyon, Marseille, Montpellier, Rouen, Saint-Etienne, and Toulouse.

The restrictions are being introduced due to the increase in the incidence of coronavirus infection. They will last at least four weeks. The curfew will be in force from 9:00 pm to 6:00 am. For violation of the regime, a fine of 135 euros is to be paid. Those who will be away from home during the curfew period must have serious reasons for this. The curfew also means the mandatory closure of all restaurants, cafes, bars, theaters and concert venues after the set time.

Macron noted that the purpose of introducing restrictive measures is to reduce the daily incidence of COVID-19 from 20 thousand to 2 or 3 thousand. The politician added that there are no plans to impose restrictions on public transport, and the Frenchmen are free to see family members and go on vacation.

Photo: globallookpress.com, Russian Look