OREANDA-NEWS. Belarus made a symmetrical response after the sanctions imposed by Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. This was stated by the press secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the republic, Anatoly Glaz.

According to the diplomat, Minsk included about 100 officials from each of the Baltic countries in its own sanctions lists. Now they are prohibited from entering the territory of Belarus. “Starting today, as it was promised, we are also introducing reciprocal symmetric restrictive measures for each of these countries. We have said previously that this is a downward spiral launched at the instigation of certain Lithuanian leaders. We will continue to respond, but we will never initiate such steps,” Glaz explained.

At the end of August, Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn declared the President of the Republic Alexander Lukashenko and several dozen other Belarusian officials personae non grata.