OREANDA-NEWS. China has announced sanctions against nine individuals and four businesses from the UK. The corresponding statement was posted on Friday, March 26, on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China.

According to the Chinese Foreign Ministry, the list, in particular, includes the former leader of the Conservative Party, Iain Duncan Smith, as well as the Tory Commission on Human Rights, which, according to Beijing, «maliciously spreads lies and disinformation».

The persons in the list, as well as their family members, are prohibited from entering the territory of China. In addition, Chinese citizens, as well as it's companies and institutions, are prohibited from doing business with the list members.

«China is determined to protect it's national sovereignty, security and development interests, and warns the British side against further following the wrong path», the Chinese Foreign Ministry said.

Beijing's decision is a response to the coordinated actions of the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom and Canada, which previously approved restrictive measures against China. At the same time, Western countries linked their steps to the genocide of Uighurs and representatives of other ethnic and religious minorities in the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region.

The EU sanctions list includes four individuals and one legal entity. Their assets in the EU are frozen, and entry to the EU is closed to them.