OREANDA-NEWS. China announced the entry into force of sanctions against 11 US officials in response to US measures against Chinese officials taken due to restrictions on Hong Kong’s autonomy. In mid-July, Beijing warned that it would take action against diplomatic pressure from Washington.

“These sanctions come into force today and apply to 11 people,” Zhao Lijian, a spokesman for the Chinese Foreign Ministry said. US senators Marco Rubio and Ted Cruz are among those hit by Chinese sanctions. “I want to emphasize that the return of Hong Kong to China, as well as the mechanism “One country, two systems”, are successful steps that have met with common approval. At the same time, the people of Hong Kong received unprecedented rights,” Zhao Lijian added.

On June 30, the Chinese authorities adopted the Hong Kong National Security Law. The document gave the Hong Kong authorities broad powers to fight protests. The US imposed sanctions on Chinese officials and stripped Hong Kong of its privileged business partner status. On August 7, the US Treasury imposed sanctions on 11 high-ranking officials in mainland China and Hong Kong. According to the American side, these people undermined the autonomy of Hong Kong and limited the freedom of speech and assembly of its citizens.