OREANDA-NEWS. On October 14, the Committee of Permanent Representatives in the European Union agreed on a sanctions list against Russia for the incident with the opposition politician Aleksey Navalny.

According to TASS news agency, citing a diplomatic source in Brussels, the blacklist was significantly reduced – from proposed nine to about five people. Journalists’ interlocutor informed that their names will later be published in the Official Journal of the EU.

At the same time, DPA agency with reference to EU diplomats reported that the European Union agreed on sanctions against six people and one organization.

Initially, Germany and France proposed to the Union to impose sanctions against nine individuals.

All persons mentioned in the sanction list will be banned from entering the European Union for a year, and their financial assets in the member countries of the community will be frozen. Subsequently, the restrictions may be extended if they are not challenged in the European Court of Justice.