OREANDA-NEWS. The Committee of Permanent Representatives in the European Union without discussion extended for 6 months, until March 15, 2021, the blacklist of individuals and legal entities in Russia and Ukraine, introduced in connection with the destabilization of the situation in Ukraine.

This was announced on September 8 by a source in EU institutions. According to him, in the near future, the EU Council at the ministerial level will approve this decision, and it will be published in the Official Journal of the EU.

In the spring of 2014, the European Union began to impose sanctions on Russian and Ukrainian citizens in connection with actions that undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine. The blacklist includes 175 citizens of Russia and Ukraine, as well as 44 legal entities, mainly state bodies and military formations of the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Lugansk people’s republics.