OREANDA-NEWS. Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, and Charles Michel, President of the Council of the EU, have signed an agreement on Britain’s withdrawal from the European Union, which opens up the possibility of its ratification in the European Parliament. This was announced on Friday by the chairman of the EC on his Twitter.

“Charles Michel and I have just signed an agreement on Britain’s exit from the EU, which allows the European Parliament to ratify it”, the statement said. In turn, Michelle in his Twitter noted that the EU and the United Kingdom "are opening a new chapter as partners and allies".

On Thursday, the European Parliament's Constitutional Affairs Committee supported at an emergency meeting an agreement on Britain's secession from the European Union (Brexit). Voting on it in the European Parliament will take place on January 29, after which the document will be immediately formally approved by the EU Council.