OREANDA-NEWS. Moscow expanded the blacklist of EU representatives who are prohibited from entering the country, the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs informed.

Russian is imposing restrictions due to the fact that the European Union “continues to expand its sanctions instruments and apply them under far-fetched and sometimes absurd pretexts.” However, it has not yet been indicated who will be subject to the new sanctions.

“In response to the actions of the European Union, the Russian side made a decision to expand the reciprocal list of representatives of the EU member states and institutions that are prohibited from entering the Russian Federation. The number of persons involved in the Russian list has been brought to par with the existing list of the European Union,” the Foreign Ministry explained. Moscow believes that Brussels ignores proposals to “conduct a substantive, professional dialogue.” A note with information on the new restrictions was sent to the EU Delegation to Russia.