OREANDA-NEWS   EU authorities imposed sanctions against eight Russians in connection with the incident in the Kerch Strait. This is stated in the official journal of the EU.

"In connection with the use of force by the Russian Federation, which led to the detention of Ukrainian soldiers and ships on November 25, 2018 in the Kerch Strait. The EU Council believes that eight people should be included in the list of persons subject to restrictive measures," the document says.

Among people included in the sanctions list are listed:

Head of the FSB border control in Crimea and Sevastopol rear Admiral Sergei Stankevich;​

His Deputy Andrey Shein;

Commander of the southern military district Alexander Dvornikov; ​

Ruslan Romashkin, Head of service in Balaklava of the FSB border Department for Crimea, which includes the border patrol ships "Emerald" and “Don”;

Alexey Shatokhin, Head of service in Kerch border Department of the FSB of Russia in the Crimea;

Sergey Shcherbakov, commander of the ship “Suzdalets”;

Alex Silaev, the commander of the ship “Don”;

Andrei Shipitsyn, commander of the ship "Emerald".

It was also decided to extend individual sanctions for six months, namely against "individuals and organizations that undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine".

The intention of the EU to impose sanctions against eight Russians previously reported Bloomberg, citing a source, but specific names were not called. Later it became known that the permanent representatives of the EU countries approved these measures.

The Head of European diplomacy, Federica Mogherini, said that there are no suitable conditions for lifting anti-Russian sanctions, as Moscow is not taking any positive steps on conflict issues. At the same time, Mogherini noted that these sanctions can not last forever.​

On November 25, 2018, Russian border guards detained three Ukrainian Navy ships near the Kerch Strait. Their crews were accused of violating the state border of Russia.