OREANDA-NEWS. The Office of Foreign Assets Control of the US Department of Treasury imposed sanctions against seven Venezuelan officials. This was stated on the website of the agency on January 13.

According to Americans, the group of Venezuelan politicians made a failed attempt to illegally seize control of the National Assembly and block the interim president of the country, Juan Guaido. Sanctions were imposed against Luis Eduardo Parra Rivero, Jose Gregorio Noriega Figueroa, Franklyn Leonardo Duarte, Jose Dionisio Brito Rodriguez, Conrado Antonio Perez Linares, Adolfo Ramona Superlano and Negal Manuel Morales Llovera.

“Treasury has designated seven corrupt National Assembly officials who, at the bidding of Maduro, attempted to block the democratic process in Venezuela,” the Secretary Steven T. Mnuchin said. According to him, sanctions can be lifted if the listed officials “side with the people of Venezuela” and the opposition leader Guaido.