OREANDA-NEWS. People arriving in Russia from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland will be required to remain in a two-week quarantine. The decree on this measure was signed by the country’s chief sanitary doctor, Anna Popova.

The requirement will take effect from December 26. Due to a new more contagious strain of coronavirus, travelers will have to self-isolate for 14 days at their place of residence or stay. An exception is made only for crew members of aircrafts that carry passengers from Great Britain.

Earlier, due to the spread of the mutated virus, Russia suspended flights to the UK until January 6. Prior to that, similar measures were introduced by almost all European states, Israel, China and other countries. The new strain of SARS-CoV-2 was also found in Denmark, the Netherlands, Italy, Switzerland, South Africa, Australia.