OREANDA-NEWS. Six strategic bombers B-52 Stratofortress of the United States Air Force will fly over all 30 NATO member countries in Europe and North America.

This was announced on August 28 by the US European Command. It is noted that such a flyby will be a unique event in the framework of the regular missions of the Bomber Task Force. The current mission named Allied Sky should “demonstrate NATO solidarity, enhance readiness and provide training opportunities aimed at enhancing interoperability for all participating aircrews.”

The flights will be conducted by two teams. The first includes four B-52 bombers which are deployed in Great Britain; their task is to fly around the countries of Europe. Strategic bombers will unite in the air with fighters from other NATO countries and refueling aircrafts in the skies of each of the host countries. The second team includes two bombers, which are stationed in the US state of North Dakota. They will fly in US and Canadian airspace.

Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, Great Britain, and the USA will take an active part in the joint flight.