OREANDA-NEWS The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine has expanded the list of goods prohibited for import into the country. The government adopted the relevant decision on Thursday at the meeting.

As specified in the press service of the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade, banned imports from Russia "corn starch, glucose and syrup from glucose, maltodextrin and maltodextrin syrup."

On December 18, the Ukrainian government extended the embargo on the import of food products from Russia until 2020. There are more than 30 types of goods in the list. In particular, it is prohibited to import bakery, flour confectionery, chocolates, meat, fish, coffee, black tea, baby food, cigarettes with a filter, beer, vodka, as well as a number of other goods. The list also includes a ban on the import of railway equipment: locomotives, trains, wagons and turnouts.

Since January 1, 2016, in connection with the entry into force of the economic part of the Association agreement between Ukraine and the EU, Russia has suspended the free trade zone agreement (FTA) with respect to Ukraine to protect the country's economic interests. In addition, since the beginning of 2016, Ukraine has been subject to the food embargo imposed by the Russian government in response to European sanctions against Russia, effective from August 2014. The import of Ukrainian meat, sausages, fish and seafood, vegetables, fruits, dairy products fell under the ban. Ukraine, in turn, adopted a resolution "on the ban on the import of goods originating from Russia to the customs territory", which came into force on January 10, 2016.

In addition, Russia and Ukraine imposed in relation to each other sanctions, which relate to individual physical and legal persons. In December 2018 Moscow has extended sanctions and imposed restrictions on 322 individuals 68 and legal entities in Ukraine. In particular, they touched upon the son of President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko Alexei, leader of the party "Fatherland" Yulia Tymoshenko, interior Minister Arsen Avakov. The list includes a number of politicians, diplomats, military and businessmen. Ukraine also announced a new package of sanctions against Russia.