OREANDA-NEWS. The Ministry of Railways have identified five locations for setting up Polytechnics, namely at Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh), Machlandpur (West Bengal), Vadodara (Gujarat), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh) and Hubli-Dharwad section (Karnataka). Setting up of Polytechnics involves coordination with/approval of various other agencies and it is not feasible to estimate financial implications or prescribe any time period at this stage.