OREANDA-NEWS. Russian authorities impose a temporary ban on flights to and from Iran because of coronavirus outbreak. It will come into force on February 28. This was reported by RBC news agency, citing a representative of the Ministry of Transport. An exception is made for two airlines: Aeroflot and Mahan Air.

In addition, restrictions on flights to South Korea have changed. On February 26, Deputy Prime Minister Tatyana Golikova announced that only Aeroflot and its charter subsidiary Aurora would have a right to fly to South Korea from March 1. The airline S7, which operates flights in this direction, regarded the ban as a violation of competition. Later, the Transport Ministry announced that Korean Air’s planes also will be able to fly to South Korea. Airlines Aurora, S7 and Yakutia were allowed to continue charter flights with significant restrictions regarding citizenship of passengers.