OREANDA-NEWS.  In the Lipetsk region, a Russian Traffic Police will be carried out to identify drivers with cars from the countries of the Eurasian economic Union who have not registered in Russia

Traffic Police will check drivers of cars with foreign registration plates, who must have the appropriate documents. This is reported by the press service of the local traffic police.

The traffic police noted that Russian citizens who own cars registered in the countries of the Eurasian economic Union (Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan) are required to register the car at their place of residence within ten days. Otherwise, they will be subject to part 1 of article 12.1 of the administrative Code of the Russian Federation, which provides for a fine of 800 rubles. In case of repeated violation, the driver will face a fine of 5,000 rubles, or be deprived of their rights for 3 months.

In March, it became known that the Traffic police on behalf of the President of Russia is developing a bill according to which violators with foreign license plates will be able to leave the country only after paying all fines.

Last year the then Prime Minister of Russia Dmitry Medvedev instructed the interior Ministry, the transport Ministry, justice Ministry, Federal customs service and the FSB to develop measures that will allow us to prosecute drivers with foreign license plates for traffic violations.