OREANDA-NEWS. Senior lawmakers of BRICS countries, namely Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, have agreed to strengthen parliamentary cooperation among them.

The agreement was reached during a BRICS parliamentary forum held in Saint Peterbourgh, which was presided over by Zhang Ping, Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of China's National People's Congress - the national legislature, Xinhua reported.

Zhang said legislatures from the five countries should push for reform of international governance and improve exchanges of governance experience to create a sound legal environment for broader BRICS cooperation.