OREANDA-NEWS. The EU will allocate more than € 15 billion to countries in Africa, the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Ukraine, Moldova), the Western Balkans and Turkey to combat coronavirus and its consequences. This is stated in a statement by the European Commission (EC), circulated on Wednesday in Brussels.

The document explains that, in particular, € 3.25 billion will be directed to Africa, including € 1.19 billion - to North African countries. In addition, € 2.1 billion will go to southern neighbors, € 962 million to the Eastern Partnership countries, € 800 million to the Western Balkans and Turkey. The EU will also support the Asia-Pacific region in the amount of € 1.22 billion, another € 291 million will go to Africa, the Caribbean and the Pacific. Finally, Latin America and the Caribbean will receive € 918 million, and overseas countries and territories will receive € 111 million.

According to the latest data, more than 1.4 million people have been infected with the coronavirus in the world, over 80 thousand deaths have been recorded.