OREANDA-NEWS. An earthquake destroyed more than 20 houses in the province of Izmir in western Turkey. This was reported by CNN, citing Izmir Mayor Tunc Soyer and the Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency (AFAD).

According to the AFAD, the earthquake covered the cities Istanbul, Izmir, Canakkale, Denizli and Bursa. Earthquake center was located in the Aegean Sea. The AFAD reported that the magnitude of the earthquake was 6.6. According to the Turkish observatory Kandilli, the magnitude was 6.8. AFAD representatives informed that the depth of the quake center was 16.5 kilometers.

It is clarified that many buildings in the districts of Bornova and Bayrakli in Izmir were destroyed. A large number of firefighters and ambulance teams were sent to the region. A search and rescue operation has begun in Bayrakli.

Information about the dead and injured has not yet been provided.