OREANDA-NEWS. The leaders of nine countries won the satiric Ig Nobel Prize, awarded for non-standard ideas and absurd scientific achievements.

The winners of this year are presidents Donald Trump (USA), Vladimir Putin (Russia), Jair Bolsonaro (Brazil), Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador (Mexico), Recep Tayyip Erdogan (Turkey) Alexander Lukashenko (Belarus), and Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedow (Turkmenistan), as well as prime ministers Boris Johnson (Great Britain) and Narendra Modi (India).

The leaders of nine nations have been awarded with the medical education prize for demonstrating during the coronavirus pandemic that politicians can have a more immediate effect on life and death than scientists and doctors can.

The Ig Nobel Prize was founded in 1991 by the magazine Annals of Incredible Research as a parody of the Nobel Prize. It is to “honor achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think.” Since 1999, the Ig Nobel has been awarded in ten nominations, some of which coincide with the Nobel, and the rest are established each year separately.