OREANDA-NEWSThe guarantor countries of the Astana process Russia, Turkey and Iran rejected the initiative to create self-government in Syria under the guise of combating terrorism. This is stated in a statement following an international meeting on Syria in Nur Sultan.

"They rejected in this regard all attempts to create new realities "on earth", including illegal self-government initiatives under the pretext of combating terrorism, and expressed their determination to resist separatist plans aimed at undermining the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Syria and threatening the national security of neighboring countries", The first deputy foreign minister of Kazakhstan, Shahrat Nuryshev, read out the final statement.

Guarantor countries also reaffirmed their "continued commitment to the sovereignty, independence, unity and territorial integrity of the Syrian Arab Republic", as well as the purposes and principles of the UN Charter, and emphasized that these principles must be universally respected and respected. Russia, Iran and Turkey condemn Israeli attacks in Syria, which violate international law and threaten security in the region.