OREANDA-NEWS Four Russian islands of the South Kuril Islands appeared on a map of Japan published on the website of the Olympics in 2020 in the section of the Olympic flame route.

The islands of Iturup, Kunashir, Shikotan and Habomai were assigned to the province of Hokkaido.

Japan considers these four islands of the Kuril ridge to be its territories, indicates them in its composition on maps, and also expresses protests because of the activities of Russia on them.

In July, Moscow protested Japan over a video for the G20 summit, in which the Kuril Islands were designated as Japanese territory.

Following the results of World War II, Iturup, Shikotan, Habomai and Kunashir left the USSR, however, Japan refuses to admit it. Because of this position, Moscow and Tokyo still have not signed a peace treaty.