OREANDA-NEWS. The Baltic states have expanded the sanctions list against Belarusian officials accused of human rights violations. The list includes 118 persons who are now banned from entering Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia, the press service of the Lithuanian Foreign Ministry reported on Thursday, March 25. We are talking about employees of the Belarusian structures of internal affairs and justice, as well as institutions of regional administration.

In connection with the protests in Belarus, 277 Belarusian officials are banned from entering Latvia and 274 Belarusians are banned from entering Estonia and Lithuania.

«Belarus is fighting for it's independence. It is a long, difficult path, but I have no doubt, that the people of Belarus will achieve their goal», said Lithuanian Interior Minister Agne Bilotaite.

The Baltic states imposed the first sanctions in connection with the protests in Belarus on August 31, banning the entry of 30 Belarusian citizens. Among them were Alexander Lukashenko and his eldest son Viktor, employees of the presidential administration, the CEC, the Ministry of Internal Affairs, the Ministry of Justice, the General Prosecutor's Office, the Investigative Committee, the KGB of Belarus and other departments. At the end of November, the Baltic states expanded the penalties, adding 28 people to the sanctions list.