OREANDA-NEWS  Deputy Sergei Ivanov introduced a bill in the state Duma "on territorial claims to the Russian Federation from Japan", which establishes the territorial affiliation of the Kuril Islands to the Sakhalin region and prohibits the use of legal acts containing provisions on the exclusion of these territories.

"This Federal law establishes the principles of consideration of territorial claims to the Russian Federation by Japan," the draft law says.

The bill establishes that the Kuril Islands are a chain of Islands between the Kamchatka Peninsula and the island of Hokkaido, consisting of a Large and Small Kuril ridge, which are "part of the Russian Federation, are an integral part of the Russian Federation, as part of the Sakhalin region."

"The Kuril Islands belong to the Russian Federation at the end of the Second world war, on the basis of the Cairo Declaration of December 1, 1943, the Potsdam Declaration of July 26, 1945, the Peace Treaty with Japan, signed in San Francisco on September 8, 1951," the document says.

In addition, according to the draft, legal acts containing provisions on the exclusion of these territories are not subject to ratification, publication, entry into force and application.

Earlier, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in an interview with the TV channel "Asahi" said that Japan claims the southern Kurils, but its position on the territorial issue with Russia does not imply the eviction of Russians living there. It was also reported that the Japanese government is developing a plan, according to which it can offer Russia to abandon mutual claims for compensation related to the four Kuril Islands, which Tokyo claims and calls them its "Northern territories".

Relations between Moscow and Tokyo for many years overshadows the lack of a peace Treaty, which the countries have not concluded at the end of the Second world war.

Japan claims the Islands of Kunashir, Shikotan, Iturup, and Habomai, citing a bilateral Treatise on trade and borders of 1855. Moscow's position is that the Islands became part of the Soviet Union following the second world war and Russia's sovereignty over them is beyond doubt.