OREANDA-NEWS. The US State Department confirmed the imposition of sanctions against the Turkish Defense Industry Administration and four Turkish individuals in response to Ankara's decision not to refuse to purchase C-400 «Triumph» anti-aircraft missile systems from Moscow. The corresponding notification on behalf of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Nonproliferation Policy-Ann Ganzer-was published on Monday, April 5,by the US Foreign Ministry.

US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken established in accordance with the CAATSA law «On Countering America's Adversaries through Sanctions» of 2017, that the Turkish Defense Industry Department, starting from August 2, 2017 or later, «was intentionally involved in significant transactions with a person who is part of or carries out activities in the interests of or on behalf of the defense or intelligence sectors of the Russian government», the document says.

Not only the SSB, but also it's head Ismail Demir, Vice-President Farouk Yigit, head of the SSB Air Defense and Space Department Serhat Gencoglu, as well as the head of the SSB program within the regional Air Defense Systems Department Mustafa Alper Deniz, fell under restrictive measures. For SSB, the sanctions mean a ban on the import of technology from the United States and on loans in excess of $10 million. Four Turkish individuals are being denied entry to the United States. Their assets in the US jurisdiction are frozen, and US citizens are prohibited from any transactions with them.