OREANDA-NEWS. October 29, 2008. Dmitry Medvedev signed a federal law ratifying the Protocol on Changes in the Agreement on the Establishment of the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC).

The Protocol is aimed at establishing the legal framework of a customs union between Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia, created under the auspices of the EurAsEC.

In accordance with the Protocol, the Interstate Council of the EurAsEC assigns the ruling body of a customs union the exclusive right to decision-making on the activities of the customs union.

Under the Protocol, the EurAsEC Court is vested with the right to guarantee its uniform application to all parties.

The protocol of 10 October 2000 was signed at a meeting of the Interstate Council of the EurAsEC in Dushanbe on 6 October 2007.

EurAsEC members are Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.