OREANDA-NEWS. 138 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 4th  to 10th July 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY). Out of these electrified villages, 4 villages belong to Arunachal Pradesh , 95  in Assam, 7 in Jharkhand,7 in Rajasthan ,2 in Madhya Pradesh , 16 in Odisha and 7 in Bihar .

Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to 14th Aug 2015 and after taking initiative by Government of India for taking it on mission mode, 7,165 additional villages have been electrified from 15th August 2015 to 10th July, 2016.   In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energisation with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.