OREANDA-NEWS. The Volkswagen Group is strengthening its sustainability management and appoints an international top-class Sustainability Council. The council members will advise the Group Board of Management on the topics of sustainable mobility, environmental protection, and social responsibility as well as integrity, the future of work, and digitisation. They will be independent and not obliged to follow instructions.

The inaugural meeting will take place at the end of October in Berlin. At this meeting, the Sustainability Council will establish its own rules of procedure, determine the distribution of responsibilities within the body, and elect a chairman or chairwoman.

The members of the Group’s Sustainability Council are:

• Prof. Dr. Ottmar Edenhofer – Deputy Director of the Potsdam Institute for
  Climate Impact Research, Director of the Mercator Research Institute on
  Global Commons and Climate Change
• Connie Hedegaard – former EU Commissioner for Climate Action
• Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost – Professor at the University of the Arts in Berlin
• Georg Kell – Founding Director UN Global Compact
• Yves Leterme – former OECD Deputy Secretary-General and former Prime
  Minister of Belgium
• Prof. Dr. Gertrude L?bbe-Wolff, former Judge at the Federal Constitutional Court
• Margo T. Oge, former Director of Transportation Air Quality, US Environmental
  Protection Agency (EPA)
• Michael Sommer, former President of the Confederation of German Trade Unions
• Elhadj As Sy, Secretary General of the International Federation of Red Cross and
  Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)