OREANDA-NEWS. The Secretary General of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), Stanislav Zas, initiated an emergency meeting of the Permanent Council in connection with the aggravation of the situation on the Armenian–Azerbaijani border, it will be held in online format on July 13.

On Sunday, an armed clash took place on the border of the Tovuz District of Azerbaijan with the Tavush Province of Armenia. The Azerbaijani Defense Ministry announced shelling of its positions by the Armenian military. According to Baku, three Azerbaijani soldiers died, the Armenian servicemen also suffered losses. At the same time, the Armenian Ministry of Defense stated that the Azerbaijani military, with the support of artillery, tried to capture the Armenian stronghold. According to Yerevan, Azerbaijan suffered losses, but Armenia did not.

The CSTO member countries are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan.