OREANDA-NEWS. On June 30, the European Council approved a recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions connected to travelling to the European Union from the third countries.

At the first stage, entry into the EU will be allowed for residents of 14 states. The situation with coronavirus infection in them should be not worse than in the Union. The list includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay. From July 1, Chinese citizens will be able to enter the EU if China also allows EU residents to enter the country.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican will automatically be considered EU residents.

At the same time, citizens of a number of categories from countries for which the ban is still in force will be able to get into the European Union. These are citizens and long-term residents of the EU and their family members, as well as those who have an “essential function or need”. This recommendation also applies to Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.