OREANDA-NEWS. Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia have banned the entry of 30 citizens of Belarus, including President Alexander Lukashenko. Sanctions were imposed for rigging election and for violence at peaceful protests, the Latvian Foreign Ministry explained.

Entry is also prohibited for the heads of the presidential administration, the Ministry of Internal Affairs, the Ministry of Justice, the Central Election Commission, the State Security Committee, the Investigative Committee, the Prosecutor General, as well as some of their deputies and subordinates.

“Latvia imposes travel ban on 30 Belarusian citizens, including Alexander Lukashenko. They are responsible for presidential election fraud and violence against peaceful demonstrations in Belarus, we support independent and democratic Belarus, and we stand by its people,” Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics wrote on Twitter.

Initially, the Baltic countries agreed on a blacklist including 118 Belarusian officials. It is noted that that the existing list may be expanded.